Master Bowlers Association
The First Provincial Master Bowlers Association was formed in Ontario in 1964 and shortly after the other Provinces formed their own Master's Associations. The Tournament Division saw its first organzied Canadian Championship in 1968 being represented by Singles only. In 1973 Tournament Division Mens & Ladies Teams were added to the competition. In 1977 the National Events added Teaching Masters for both Singles and Team Events.
In 1974 there was 200 Tournament Masters and over 400 registered Teaching Masters. Membership in the Tournament Masters required a Man to hold an average of 235 or better and a Lady to carry an average of 220 or better. In later years the averages were reduced to 230 for a Man and 215 for a Woman to be a Member of the Tournament Masters. The Teaching Division is open to all registered Teaching Masters and is based on a Pins-Over- Average concept. In later years a Senior Masters Division was added due to the overwhelming number of "experienced" bowlers.

Some of B.C.'s Master's National Champions

click on Master's Logo for picture
(more pictures will be added as I find them)
B.C. Tournament Masters National Champions
1975 Mens Team
Back Row - Wayne Davies, Jim Turner, Ray Walz, Front - Ron McLellan, Bob Carter
1978 Ladies Singles Champion
Jane Bachman
1978 Ladies Team
Mary Bakewell, Toni Paulger, Evie Weinberger, Carol Paulger, Louise Paulhus
1980 Mens Singles Champion
Kip Smith
1980 Ladies Team
Evie Weinberger, Jane Bachman, Louise Paulhus, Jeane Kosciuk, Marg Patterson, Don Handley (coach)
1981 Mens Team
Ray Walz, Wayne Davies, Ron Sandnes, Ron McLellan, Kip Smith, Jim Turner (coach)
1981 Ladies Team
Rose McDole, Louise Paulhus, Melba Handley (coach), Louise Halford, Jane Bachman, Toni Paulger
1982 Mens Singles Champion
Wayne Davies
1984 Mens Single Champion
Doug Mosdell
1984 Ladies Team
Leslie Baliss (coach), Marg Patterson, Mary Bakewell, Ev Nicol, Pat Waybourne, Louise Paulhus
1985 Ladies Singles Champion
Jane Bachman
1990 Mens Team
Darrell Baily, Don Eakin, Doug Oye, Ray Walz, Larry Johnson (coach), Dave Gourley
1997 Mens Singles Champion
Bob Herman
1999 Ladies Singles Champion
Kim Chadwick
2003 Mens Single Champion
Joe Wilson

B.C. Teaching Masters National Champions
l981 Ladies Team
Cecile Sutherland, Lyron, LeSage, Marg Mumford (coach), Ethel Knapton, Barb Busilla, Laura Adrian
1984 Ladies Team
Pat Mattock (coach), Jeanette Tinney, Yvette Daigle, Colleen Renney, Mari McCullough, Brenda Barber
2004 Ladies Team
Debbie Ealey, Gina Robinson, Karen Bowe, Dianne McPhee, Joan Ritchie (coach), Marg Mumford, Fred Hickey
B.C. Senior Masters National Champions
1999 Seniors Team
John Petipas, Lional Bayes, Marg Mumford, Les Sevile, Glennis Godrey, Jim Grant